What Did I Learn?

One of the very first things I learned in this class is that you shouldn’t judge a course by its name. “Advanced Theories of Communication,” does not sound like the most intriguing course, and I believe this is because of the word ‘theories.’ I assumed the class would be a sequence of different philosophers, their theories, and memorizing definitions, like other theory courses I have taken in the past. However, CMN3109 was nothing like that, of course we learned new concepts and looked at theories of different linguists, but it incorporated Twitter, a platform I have not used in a classroom setting, that made the class more interesting and kept me engaged.

In all honesty, I never liked participating verbally in class and I avoid talking in class unless I absolutely have to. When Professor Levy told us on the first day of class that we were encouraged to use Twitter to ask questions and participate in class discussions, I was relieved and curious to see how using Twitter would affect my learning.

The rest of this blog is dedicated to show a glimpse of what I have learned throughout the course and what my thoughts are on some of the class material. One of them being that there is no simple definition of ‘communication,’ and in fact the term depends on the context as it can embody different forms such as language, dialogue, symbols, or communication technology #UOAC.

Leave a Reply

